Posted by: Orlando Web Services | December 9, 2012

2012 Flight Summary

A Year Like No Other

The last two and a half months have been unlike any in my flying history and when I think about it, the whole year has brought me new experiences.

The spring and summer months brought me many counter drug flights for the Civil Air Patrol. I flew a 4 hour sortie in a Cessna 182 RG and also plotted courses and search patterns in our 182 G1000. It was fun even in 90 degree weather in a flight suit.

The fall brought me back into the flying club as a board member. I also secured a paid position as General Manager of the club. Because of this I was able to enjoy some Cirrus flying and other through the cloud adventures. Just last week I was PIC for a nice 154 mile cross-country trip to N71 near Harrisburg, PA and back. This was the farthest cross-country I had flown and the highest at 6,500 ft  (yeah I don’t get out too much).

And finally, out of the blue, I was offered a chance to fly in a Falcon 900B business jet from Rochester, NY to Boca Raton, FL and back. I flew in the jump seat most of the time but finally got a chance to ride shot-gun for an hour or so on the way back. I can’t tell you what an experience this day has been. It was something I never thought would happen in a million years…still can’t believe it!

Take a moment and enjoy the videos that I have posted.

Happy Holidays!

The Falcon 900B

The Falcon 900B

The Falcon 900B Panel

The Falcon 900B Panel

Me in the Right Seat

Me in the Right Seat (I didn’t touch anything)

View from the right seat.

View from the right seat.

Another view out the window.

Another view out the window from the cabin.

Responses

  1. Sounds like you have had a fantastic year Barry, good for you buddy! I wish we had the ‘enthusiasm’ for a Civil Air Patrol here in the UK, I’d join up! :-/


Leave a Reply

Categories

